Education and Civic Education Program

Since its establishment, CEOSS has taken interest in education as a basic entry to develop a human being as an individual as well as enhancing society’s ability to develop its capacities. Thus, managing literacy classes has been an activity in which CEOSS has excelled in the work communities in which CEOSS has depended on local leaders and the use of simplified curricula suitable for the nature of these communities.
 

 

With the expansion of CEOSS development work, work in the field of education has been developed to include other education issues besides literacy such as admitting all pupils at school age to basic education schools and returning dropouts to schools. This is besides raising the efficiency of formal education through developing the environment and infrastructure of basic education schools and developing teacher skills as well as enhancing a link between schools and communities.

This development also included taking into consideration different groups, especially women, to whom CEOSS directs intense efforts, besides teaching them reading and writing, to enhance their role, obtain their rights, and achieve the best possible level of participation in decision making processes at different levels.

In light of CEOSS adopting a rights-based approach to development, education is viewed as a basic right every individual must obtain. It is the right that empowers individuals to possess better knowledge on health, the environment, and the labor market, thus enabling them to enjoy other rights. The concept of education is also expanded to include civic education which aims at individuals obtaining a modern culture that involves the nature of citizenship that is based on a system of civic and political rights as well as establishing citizenship, human rights, and building a civil society.

Basic Programs in the Field of Education

  • The Literacy Program
  • Women’s Empowerment Program
  • Civic Education Program

Work Strategies

  • Adopting a rights-based approach to development with an emphasis on the pivotal role of the poor as citizens
  • Partnership and coordination with concerned institutions (the government sector, private sector, and NGOs) to employ their available resources
  • Building capacities of citizens and the community committees representing them in the poor areas to empower them to present their issues and obtain their rights
  • Advocacy on the part of citizens as an approach in adopting various education issues
  • Networking with a number of intermediating Egyptian institutions to address causes in the realms of advocacy, transparency, analyzing public budgets, capacity building, and impacting public procedures and policies of the state
English

برنامج التعليم والتربية المدنية

اهتمت الهيئة القبطية الانجيلية للخدمات الاجتماعية منذ بداياتها بالتعليم كمدخل أساسي لتنمية الإنسان كفرد و كذلك لتعزيز قدرة المجتمع على تنمية  قدراته ، في ضوء ذلك كانت فصول مكافحة الأمية نشاط تتميز الهيئة بإدارته في مجتمعات العمل  معتمدة علي قيادات محلية  و مستخدمة مناهج مبسطة  مناسبة لطبيعة هذه المجتمعات  .

 

و مع تطور العمل التنموي بالهيئة ، تم تطوير العمل في مجال التعليم ليتناول قضايا أخري إلي جانب مكافحة الأمية مثل إلحاق الملزمين و إعادة المتسربين إلي المدارس  ، و أيضا رفع كفاءة التعليم الرسمي من خلال تطوير بيئة و بنية مدارس التعليم الأساسي و النهوض بمهارات المعلمين و كذلك  تعزيز الربط بين المدرسة و المجتمع .

كما شمل هذا التطور النظر الي الفئات المختلفة و خاصة المرأة و التي توجه الهيئة نحوها – الي جانب تعلم القراءة و الكتابة –  جهودا مكثفة لتعزيز دورها و الحصول علي حقوقها و تحقيق أفضل مستوي من المشاركة علي في عمليات صنع القرار في المستويات المختلفة

و في ضوء تبني الهيئة لاستراتيجية التنمية المرتكزة علي الحقوق  –  يتم النظر الي التعليم كحق أساسي يجب ام يتمكن كل فرد من الحصول عليه  ، و هو الحق الذي يمكن الإنسان من  امتلاك معارف أفضل عن الصحة و البيئة و سوق العمل  مما يساعد علي التمتع بحقوق أخري ، كما يتسع مفهوم التعليم ليشمل التعليم المدني  الذي يهدف إلى إكساب الأفراد ثقافة حديثة تتمحور حول طبيعة المواطنة المرتكزة على منظومة الحقوق المدنية والسياسية ،  و ترسيخ المواطنة وحقوق الإنسان وبناء المجتمع المدني

البرامج الأساسية في مجال التعليم

  • برنامج مكافحة الأمية
  • برنامج تمكين المرأة
  • برنامج التربية المدنية

استراتيجيات العمل:

  • تبني المنهجية الحقوقية للتنمية مع التركيز على دور الفقراء المحوري كمواطنين
  • الشراكة و التنسيق مع المؤسسات المعنية و(القطاع الحكومي / القطاع الخاص / القطاع الأهلي ) توظيف الموارد المتاحة لديهم .
  • بناء قدرات المواطنين و اللجان الممثلة لهم في المناطق الفقيرة لتمكينهم من عرض قضاياهم و الحصول علي حقوقهم
  • الدعوة وكسب التأييد من قبل المواطنين كمنهجية عمل في تبني قضايا التعليم المختلفة
  • التشـبيك مع مجموعـة من المؤسسات المصرية الوسـيطة لتناول قضايا في مجالات الدفاع والمناصـرة والشفافية وتحليل الموازنات العامة وبناء القدرات والتأثير في الإجراءات والسـياسـات العامـة للدولة
العربية